If you are like most people I have spoken to, you’ve been feeling a bit out of sorts lately, with the weight of the world sitting firmly on your shoulders. Many of the negative feelings we hold in our bodies can be traced back to our chakras. Chakras are the energy centers of your body, so they are the vessels that store positive and negative energy.

There are seven major chakras and each runs along the spine, containing bundles of nerves. If one is blocked or unbalanced, the energy will not flow throughout your body.  These blocked channels lead to physical and emotional ailments.

Here’s a quick overview of each chakra and what they affect:

First or root chakra: Self-preservation and security; your fear responses.
Second or sacral chakra: Pleasure and relationships: your passion and energy levels.
Third or solar plexus chakra: Self-acceptance and acknowledgment; your sense of pride and self-worth.  
Fourth or heart chakra: Love and connection; your inner peace and forgiveness.
Fifth or throat chakra: Creativity and self-expression; your interaction and openness with others. This is a very powerful center that can block the flow of energy throughout your entire system.
Sixth or Third-Eye chakra: Mental clarity and vision; your inner knowledge of your true self. 
Seventh or crown chakra: The spiritual center; your connection with the Divine Source.

In-balances in any of these chakras can influence your physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual wellbeing. The interconnectivity of these energy centers means that when one gets thrown out of whack, its effects will be felt in other chakras. 

Knowing what these chakras affect and how to use self-care practices to keep them balanced is an essential part of good health and well-being. 

How familiar are you with the chakra system? Are you interested in learning more?

Journeys to Heal

Author Journeys to Heal

More posts by Journeys to Heal

Leave a Reply